weirding out coworkers

Yesterday? Day before? something had come up while I was in the backroom and wound up telling one of my coworkers some oddball facts about the company we work for:

Mainly: we are the reason why there are EPA rules for where you can set pallets of fertilizer (and I think mulch) to keep from contaminating waterways and local drainage systems. We are either the first, or one of the first, companies to work on creating more/better sustainable farming for coffee–and I don’t blame them. People drink a lot of coffee.

Coworker went “Huh. I like this company a little more now. Thanks.” and walked away.

A coworker is mad because they found a box of Halloween socks and claimed “It’s too early for that!”

No, no it’s not. We’re nearing the end of July. We’ve got Halloween/fall bandanas out, we’ve got those weird wrappy flannel shawl things out (I want one), little bits of Halloween are showing up. Pallets of general fall stuff keeps coming in. Here in about 3 weeks we’ll start getting a mixed bag of Halloween candy and Christmas trees.

We are just under 30 days until our inventory and the backroom is a disaster. Customers are complaining about how no one is working up front (it’s true. no one is scheduled to be there when we open to the public and no one is there to get money for tills. or, if they are, they don’t show up for 30+ minutes) or they’re finding expired items.

I went to talk to someone about paperwork and a coworker dropped off a bag of cat food. They said the customer handed it to them and went “This expired in 2020.” (people don’t rotate) Kind of sad when we can hardly keep dry cat and dog food on the shelves as it is.

It’s going to be one hell of a season this year. I’ve been cussed out by a customer because we don’t have “kid backpacks” out despite walking them to where we currently have backpacks. But hey, if you don’t think Scooby Doo is an “any age” backpack, then I don’t know what to tell you. I’ve had customers mad because we don’t have the print-outs for school supply lists.

Our area is sending kids back to school for this upcoming year, and it’s starting earlier than normal. We’re already anticipating people going a little extra crazy when it comes to Thanksgiving and Christmas (I just hope we don’t wind up as another clip on youtube again). People are going to be angry over the food availability–I don’t know if we’ll be getting the massive amounts of turkeys like we normally do. People are already mad over toys, so I don’t want to know how bad it’ll be when the holidays get closer.

Leave a comment