(knitting and writing)

+ I’ve had a story idea swimming around my head for a couple of weeks. Poking me every once in a while with “come on, this would be so cool!” but I don’t really get farther than the initial idea and Peter Lewis’ voice piping up as the narrator of the idea.

+ I’ve listened to NoSleep so long that certain voice actors become narrators in my head. It’s fascinating.

Jessica McEvoy’s voice narrated the migraine story, Peter Lewis has piped up for this one idea, and now Erika Sanderson has pushed that idea off a cliff to point out that there was this other idea I wrote down a while back and I should work on that one. I’m sure, at some point, I’ll have David Ault or James Cleveland start narrating a story idea and prod my brain into working on something longer than “hey, this would be a great story!” and only writing down the initial idea.

+ I feel like I’m behind on everything. I don’t know if this means that I’m right on schedule or what.

+ I made a little knit bag, mainly to see if I could actually do it. I remember seeing a thing on “how” to make one using a specific knitting loom and did it that way and…the bottom is just…terrible not up to par. I’ll stick with the other way on making bags because at least then I won’t have to worry about most items trying to fall out of the bottom.

The bag also used way less yarn that I had anticipated, so the skein looks like I still haven’t touched it.

+ I’m working on a shawl. I picked this really awesome orange “cake” yarn (I don’t get the whole “cake yarn” thing) and, as a skein of yarn, it looks really cool. As a knit project…it’s nice that I don’t have to change colours…? The awesome yarn is hideous and this shawl idea is taking forever.

I tried to do a shawl idea before, but ended up getting really irritated and ripping it off the loom, busting a hole in the peice, and no I can’t unravel it so it’s balled up and stuffed in one of my yarn holders. (I’m disappointed in myself. It’s a really pretty yarn, in a washed out faux hippie weird kind of way). I’m hoping to be able to unravel it at some point and make a scarf or something out of the yarn. Or give up and figure out a way to crochet a…doohicky to “end” it so it doesn’t unravel and look worse.

I like the idea of making shawls. I just pick terrible colours.

+ I don’t get why “cake” yarn is so popular. Maybe if the colour blocks were smaller? Maybe if the orange one wasn’t “creamcicle orange” and “almost a pumpkin orange” mixed with “salmon” and “this belongs in the Valentine’s section pink” it would look better? (so, of course I have 2 more skeins that are “cake yarn” style). Maybe if it was fall colours? Or maybe if it was like one base colour and then another colour mixed in? (black with small blocks of purple or something)

+ Writing has been more of a: write idea, stare at it, put it away, look at idea that got written down before, be slightly confused as to where this note to myself came from, shrug, go do something else.

I printed out some half-baked story bits and…promptly lost them. I have no idea where anything is.

Trying to force myself to write things, either as a way to drag myself into finishing something or as a way to avoid doing things (like washing dishes).

Leave a Reply

