irl

Blah blah

I’ve been pulling a wordpad document open periodically throughout the day in hopes that maybe I’d write up something that I can post to the blog.

I am a terrible person when it comes to this. I don’t know if I care enough or not.

The past few days, we’ve been periodically getting Mewkis, Carrot, and Beric back inside the house because they’ve managed to find a hole, that we currently can’t get to, in the basement that allows them access to the outside world. Mewkis likes to hang out with the black cat that Jamie is determined to lure into the house and make it ours. Beric and Carrot have been wandering in the backyard near the windows so they can get back inside without a problem.

Tomorrow, I’m getting Jamie to buy cat collars just in case anything happens to them. They also brought fleas with them. Uggs is perfectly fine, because he’s on Bravecto (and allergic to fleas). So, I spent some time online looking for all-natural, pet-safe flea deterrents (besides the normal lemon, peppermint, whathaveyou). One thing mentioned lavender or cedar oil. I put a few drops of lavender oil on the dogs’ collars because I couldn’t find the cedar oil (I told Jamie and he pointed out that the cedar was one of the many oils that he gifted his cousin a couple months back).

I told Jamie that now the dogs smell like dirty hippies, he responded with “Well, the house smells like a cheap convenience store usually, so it’ll be a change.”

What else…

I am finally, finally almost completely done with catching up on dirty laundry. My never-ending pile of laundry is finally becoming a manageable mess of one or one-and-a-half loads. I’m currently waiting on the dryer to be done so that I can fold/hang up stuff and throw the latest load from the washer into the dryer. Small victories.

The house has been a never-ending disaster zone. The dogs have learned that our absentmindedness and apathetic nature is permission for them to do whatever they want. They’ve destroyed numerous amounts of Tupperware (fancy Tupperware, cheap Tupperware), broken a few bowls, and have decided that peeing on the basement floor is perfectly ok. All I can do is sigh and clean up the messes (and re-mop the basement floor). No matter how many times we clean the office and craft room, within an hour they’re messed up again (but us, by cats, by dogs).

Jamie’s dad brought us a new couch (new to us) and Jamie has been trying to not let the dogs on the couch. One of the cats has already coughed up a hairball on the couch and the dogs have, for the most part, ignored the new couch in favor of the dog bed (which Cricket or Firefly is methodically pulling stuffing out of) and the couchbed thing that they have claimed as their own.

So, artsy stuff. Let’s talk about artsy stuff.

Jamie has been fascinated by woodburning and has been determined to do it. He’s pretty arty and, after trying a handful of different things with various scraps we have here with a one-heat-does-all woodburner, he decided to purchase one of the ones where you could change the temperature. It worked out perfectly because, as he went to change out the tip on the non-degree-varying woodburner, the tip broke and now it’s useless until we can figure out how to fix it.

As a surprise, Jamie made me a plague doctor. I’m going to try to get a photo of it because I think it’s adorable and I love it. I don’t know if I want to set it up at the computer or if I want to set it up in the craft room. Currently, it’s been hanging out on the computer desk with the rest of the various doodads I have scattered about.

I, on the other hand, have finally finished the Combo Breaker baby blanket that I was supposed to be done with back in January. Jamie had told me this past weekend that he’d promised he’d bring it to work to the parent whose child it’s for. It is 27 x 32, 151 rows, including the cast-off row, and 15 different shades of green. Every single green is a different shade and I think it’s really fun.

I have now made plans to make another baby blanket, this time in Gryffindor colours (much to my dismay because I am a Slytherin, but I love my friends). I’m going to add it to the ever-growing list of projects to make. I don’t know when I’ll get to it, and I don’t know how I’m going to do the stripes, but it’ll be added. Maybe I’ll have it done by the kiddo’s first birthday.

Leave a Reply

