I kind of want to wander

(first off, when did the wordpress update happen? Everything has been shifted to the right and it’s like 90s Angelfire. Wow this is weird)

I don’t remember when I last updated and…I really don’t want to look. I think it was within the last couple weeks? Maybe? I’m taking a break from re-arranging the craft room, so I figured it’d be good to go ahead and update on life, my little universe, and whatnot.

+ I told one of our regulars, and one of my minions, that if they want to adopt Dunk (I had to take him back to RCACP. I feel awful about it, but a whole lot of things happened at once and…yeah, that’s all I’m saying), I would pay for his adoption fee.  The customer was empathetic and the minion was like “Dude, I almost adopted that dog!” (I’m still trying to convince her to adopt him to go with the “teeny tiny” dog she…purchased. The customer and I gave her a ton of shit for buying a mutt. Look, if you’re going for working-breed for working or show dog, I’m more understanding of you buying your dog because of the whole *hand wave* thing. But, seriously, there is no reason why you need to buy a dog. There’s a dumb dog who will love you forever at your local shelter who is a perfect match for you)

+ Coworker M decided to quit while I was on vacation. My guess is that because Screechypants didn’t have me to dump all her anger/rage/stress/freakouts on me and went to him because Coworker C doesn’t take shit from anyone and will tell you to your face. Screechypants also likes Coworker C.

Now, I’m under the impression that Screechypants is, while over-stressing herself out this week, is consciously trying to be nice to me because I am the only idiot who can do the dayshift because Coworker C has changed her availability because she (Coworker C) can’t stand The Poodle.

+ Did I ever mention The Poodle? I know I’ve mentioned her on tumblr, but I can’t remember if I mentioned her here. So: The Poodle is a new-hire for a separate department but also a backup for my department (yay retail). She reminds me of a poodle–specifically, she reminds me of the toy poodle I had in my teens (all bark, no bite, loud as fuck, foofy, no concept of personal space). She also has the same feathery hairstyle my mom had in the early 90s. It’s…odd, but I’m able to use previous training (theatre class, retail work, etc) to work around her.

+ Coworker C and The Poodle clash like two five year olds trying to beat the hell out of each other over the last crayon. I try to stay out of it. I don’t need more stress in my life.

+ Thanks to Coworker C changing her schedule and Coworker M saying “fuck this, I’m out,” I’m now dayshift during the week and…it’s really weird. It’s been a long time since I’ve been dayshift (granted, I’m the closer on the weekends, but whatever). Now I have to learn one of the machines that I’ve been happily able to avoid, for the most part, since I started at Store. This also means that I’m going to actually have to remember one of the Vendor’s names (because of the machine). I’ve got two weeks to learn because Coworker J, who’s been training The Poodle, is leaving. Every time I go to watch him work with this machine, shit hits the fan.

Yesterday:

I had an asshole make one of my minions cry.

If I hadn’t been on the clock, I would’ve grabbed him by his shirt collar and dragged him out of the store (can you imagine? 5’2″ teeny tiny Manders dragging a man, who’s old enough to be my grandfather, that is almost 6′ by his jacket or shirt) because you don’t make my minions cry, you fucking bastard. I also would’ve smacked him upside his head for being a lying asshole.

However.

I was on the clock. It happened to be at a slow point where I was actually partially-watching the same minion ring the guy up. I recognized the guy as the same guy who kept giving me dirty looks the other day because he was going to steal something and I was in the way. I watched her ask for the receipt back and pull her phone out before she asked for me to come over. I was pretty close, but not close enough to hear the beginning of the “conversation.”

She is trying to tell me that she messed up and the guy cuts her off, demanding a manager. Smiling, being cheerful, I say that’s me! The guy decides to loom down at me (don’t loom over me. I know I’m short and it just proves you’re a dickwagon) and demands to speak. with. the. manager. I deadpan and wave “Yeah, hi. That’s me.”

(seriously. If you ask to speak with the manager, I’ll be super nice the first time. Demand to speak with the manager again and I won’t be nice when I have to repeat myself. I’ll be polite, because I’m paid to be, but I won’t be nice about it if I know for a fact you heard me the first time)

The guy sticks his finger in my face and tells me that she (my minion) short changed him. She tells me what happened, and he cuts her off to say that she was on her phone talking to someone. She answered a phone call and that’s why she messed up. My minion is getting flustered and loudly states that he’s lying. I realize that my minion has never encountered something like this and I can’t show emotion, my thoughts are going “fuck.” I tried to reassure my minion that I had seen most of the transaction.

The guy changes his story to how she short changed him because she was “too busy texting” and she cuts him off to show her phone to me, again, saying that she was using her calculator. I told her to go help a customer who was waiting patiently while I’m watching her face flush and tears fill her eyes, I tell her that I’m going to count the drawer to make sure everything’s ok. I walk away to grab the clip board and I hear “You Need JESUS!” come out of her.

I can’t repremand her over this, I can’t talk to her about this with the customer right there. I come back, she threatens to walk out, point her to the customer, and call for The Poodle to come help because we’re getting people. The guy is confused over what’s going on, so he decides to loom over me again. He tells me that he has never. in his life. ever. had to deal with someone on their phone. He switches up his story, while telling it, stating that she was answering a phone call and then “poking on her phone to answer people” and that’s why she messed up.

The buttons on the register are easy to mess up. I’ve done it, she’s done it, minions who have been with the Company for years have done it. Accidents happen. I open the register and then he realizes, after I’ve told him twice I’m going to count the drawer, that I’m going to count the till. He demands to know if I have to “count all of that?!” and I explain that if he’s missing money, I have to to make sure that he gets all of his money back. He scoffs “To hell with that bullshit” and tells me that she “short changed” him $5. He tells me that he got his $5 and he “just wanted the manager to know” that she screwed up because she “was too busy playing on that phone.” I told him, I had seen most of the transaction. I had seen when she asked for his receipt and then pulled out her phone to double check the math.

Behind him, The Poodle is trying to get the minion to calm down, saying things like “deep breath” and whatnot.

She was able to calm down after a while and I really wanted to kick the guy in the kneecaps.

The only thing I can figure is that he was able to get under her skin (she’s got non-work related things going on and all I know is that she’s stressed out). He tried to get under my skin by being a jackass, but lol. Try again ding dong. I’ve worked in retail too godsdamned long to get upset over repeated badgering. Looming over me does nothing. I know I’m short, I’ve known I was short since I was little, and public schools do a lot better job of fucking with you over height than some greasy asshole trying to wheedle more money out of a register.

~*~

+ I finished the Adam Nevill book (The Ritual). It was weird. Now I’m reading Joe Hill’s The Fireman and I forgot that I had read the first chapter, so that took a moment. I’m on Part 3, so I’m only at 26%. I’m at that point where I’m like I want to find out what happens next but I want to read something else because I kind of don’t want to know what happens next. It’s a weird thing that happens to me every so often.

+ I started to re-read Small Gods by Sir Pterry and I’m working my way through Raven’s Gate by Anthony Horowitz, which is…odd.

+ We bought an inflatable collar for Uggs (he has twitchy kitty). He is currently thrilled that I have taken it off of him.

I have also found that the sound of him licking the collar makes the same damned sound as him licking a normal e-collar. I can’t win.

+ Jamie, in a fit of manic energy, decided that he was going to bring all the totes of craft supplies up from the basement and into my craft room. The craft room was clean before this.

So, five totes showed up, along with little boxes of things, and somehow his little fabric organizer thingy that he bought for his office found its way in my craft room. I’ve moved the one tote of decorations into the kitchen, to get it out of the way for now, and emptied two totes. One tote is in the closet under the yarn holders, and I think I have more. I can’t remember. I took a small break.

+ The overall goal is to get the craft room done enough to where I can get my rollie chair back into the craft room and use the drafting table for comics/writing.

Leave a Reply

