Complain. Contemplate.

I don’t want to do anything. I want to go back to sleep. I want to lay in bed and read scary stories and freak myself out to where I need to switch over to something comforting, like classic ghost stories and Discworld novels. I don’t want to wash the handful of dishes (pans) that are in the sink from dinner last night. I don’t want to work on laundry. I don’t want to call anyone (got some Official People [like the doctor] to call as well as a reminder to myself that I need to call Mom because I forgot to call her on Halloween)

I don’t think the antibiotics have helped, but I’ve got 4 days worth of dosage left (and tonight’s dosage). The antibiotics are massive.

I started working on the Combo Breaker blanket. The parents of the upcoming combo-breaker (little girl after 3 boys) like green, so this kid is getting a green stripey blanket. At least I have lots of different greens! (I’m thinking about doing 1-inch stripes, but I’m not sure. I’m at about 1/2-inch so I’ll have some time to decide what I want to do)

I need to get the giant ladder out of the garage to get the attic window shut and nailed back down, but I’ll have to wait for when Jamie and I have time together to do it because I am not getting on that ladder when I’m home alone.

Ok, let’s try this again. I started writing the above yesterday and just went…blegh. I want to write, I just…lack, I don’t know, everything? Ambition? Productivity? Energy?

So, I’m going to try again and see how it goes (mainly because I don’t want to hit “publish” on a post that’s just over 100 words unless it’s a story that I’ve worked on that lands around that word-count)

Let’s go!

+ I now know why Ursula Vernon gets so much mulch every year for her garden (her continually growing garden). We bought 2 bags of pine mulch (can’t have eucalyptus, can’t have dyed. pine mulch was the safest I could find at Lowes) and I used one. I was able to do a little bit around the lonely rose stem (super crazy full of thorns rose stem) off to the side of the flower bed before dumping the rest around the Where did this rose vine come from? vines/thingy and realizing that I was able to get just enough to go around the rose…vine thingy and the immediate surrounding flower bed area.

I need more mulch.

+ I continue to hate the people who drive through our neighborhood. I have found a newspaper, many crushed cans (what the fuck), coffee tops, and various debris in the front yard and the little ditch in front of it. Thankfully it’s not as bad as it has been before, but I’ll still continue to hate people who drop their trash when they’re done with their food in my yard. I curse whomever it is with a nagging feeling of having forgotten something very important.

+ Carrot managed to get into the basement the other night and…found his way outside (through the window we really should board up because it is November and we’re getting really close to February, which means ice. nothing but ice and cold). Jamie lured him back with cat treats. He definitely does not live up to his name of Carrot Ironfoundersson.

+ I successfully weirded out the new neighbors with my yearly burying-apples-on-Halloween thing, and they in turn successfully weirded me out. They have an inflatable turkey in their yard now. I fear this is a precursor to Christmas and I get the feeling of dread that it will be a Griswald Christmas.

I told a coworker about it and she immediately said “I bet you’ll wake up one day and there will be a giant white bunny in their yard in time for Easter.”

I hope not.

+ My boss is freaking out because it’s the holiday season and those who were supposed to learn New Way to Do Thing did not learn, so we failed and were not “certified” (it’s ridiculous. we failed because the people who were asked don’t know how to do a basic inventory check and the Almighty Binder of Information tells upper management how to put people into the system so they can do New Thing and doesn’t tell anyone how to do New Thing.)

New Thing, which is just an “improved” way of recieving customer orders, is a pain. I’ve asked the store manager why can’t I do it the old way because then it’s in the system and I don’t have to fight the fucking thing for 20 minutes while my department blows up with customers. She had no response (I just asked her why can’t I do it the old way and left the rest in my head. there were customers around). New Thing is a pain, the training has nothing to do with us and is clearly only meant for another part of the company, and we’re just going to have to wing it. I also ruined a whole bunch of labels because apparently they printed out while I was trying to figure out how to do New Thing.

The whole process is a mess.

+ I looked at one of my coworkers yesterday, and said: “I smell dead people.”

She asked me what the smell was, didn’t react to my words, just wanted to know what I was smelling. I described it as: “y’know, it’s like how your grandparents or great-grandparents house smells. Kinda musty, kinda dead floral, and something you’re not quite sure of.” She nodded, completely understanding, and smelled her jacket while I smelled mine. It wasn’t either of us and the scent went away.

There weren’t any customers around me at the time when the smell wafted up to me as far as I know, so the only things I can think of are: A) We’re still in that thin veil area so it could be a dead person walking by and I just picked it up, or 2) I am having an olfactory hallucination.

It is something that makes me sad. I can’t go to haunted houses or anything. I can’t go “Maybe it was a ghost!” because it’s probably just a hallucination. Yay for my messed up brain.

+ I have learned at work that apparently talking to things, even when I talk low, is still considered weird. Apparently I talk to things way more than everyone else and it’s weirding people out. Awesome.

+ We bought a new tire for the wheelbarrow and Jamie couldn’t get the metal doodad for the middle of it out of the old tire. WD-40 and a rubber mallet got that shit out (two weeks later because I am a lazy bastard and good ideas don’t always immediately show up). Now if I could find the nuts to screw the wheel back on, we’ll be good to go and I won’t have to carry the other bag of mulch to the front yard.

+ I decided to go fuck it and started working on a scene that I’ve been mulling over for a story I haven’t thought about besides a super basic idea. It’s formulating nicely and I like the little old lady I’ve created and…I feel awful that she’s going to die. It’s kind of strange, especially because she’s not based on any grandmothers I’ve known (she’s based around different characteristics of people I’ve watched on television).

Her cat, however, is going to be loosely based on the neighborhood cat that Jamie has decided is Going To Be Ours (because it’s getting cold, he’s gone for longer stretches of time, he looks skinny, and he’s so sweet). It’s an adorable orange tomcat.

Leave a Reply

