It’s the first day of NaNosomethingsomething

It’s the time of year where people who do NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) begin their annual freakout and obsessively write thousands of words a day in order to get a novel-length wordcount. I find the concept fascinating.

The idea of working on a novel-length story in the course of a month is intriguing. I see it and wonder how people do it. 30 days and at least 50,000 words. That’s 1,666.6(repeating) words a day (minimum). While I’m sure that just under 1,700 words a day isn’t that hard for writers with pre-set daily limits in order to get their work done on time for deadlines (people like Scalzi, Ursula Vernon, etc), I am…not one of those people.

I’m currently having a hard time working on story ideas in general. I’ve got a notebook or two where I’ve been trying to make notes of different ideas that are in various other notebooks. I haven’t touched the weird MIB-centric story, which is slowly making its way to novelette-length (how? I don’t know) for a couple of weeks (two weeks? I don’t know. I work retail as a day job and I am terrible at remembering what day it is).

If I stop to think of the different projects that I want to do, have written down to do, etc, I’d probably get overwhelmed. Stories, comic ideas, knitting/crochet plans, dog costume ideas. My lists keep growing.

On a lighter note.

+ Firefly’s birthday is tomorrow, so I bought some extra peanut butter to make peanut butter cakes for the dogs.

+ I have successfully weirded out the new neighbors last night by doing my yearly Halloween thing: burying apples.

+ I weighed Snooch. He’s still 28 lbs. omg

+ Instead of listening to the Season 8 pass member Halloween special (of NoSleep), I am listening to Let’s Pretend this Never Happened because it’s hilarious and it’s been a while since I read the book. I also found out that I can’t download any audible book on my phone due to lack of space…for some reason. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

