Challenge yourself

I’ve spent the past couple days working on a self-imposed challenge. Two challenges mainly.

The first challenge involves crochet–something that I’ve been attempting to re-learn. I used to do little crochet things in high school. They weren’t great, but they were fun and I could work on it while doing RPGs online with friends.

This challenge with crochet, I’m taking the idea of using fabric as yarn and working with it. So far, it’s working out fairly well and I’m having fun with it. I’m almost done with one of the project ideas and I plan on showing it off when it’s complete.

The downside is that I’m at a point where I have to take breaks because my fingers hate me (yay for arthritis).

The second challenge was for writing. I wanted to see if I could write a short story in one specific way. This was brought on by an article I was reading that made my imagination go off into the realm of science fiction (I’m not a sci-fi writer) and working my way through F Paul Wilson’s Soft and Other Stories helped it grow.

I’m not sure if I’ve completed the story. Endings are always…terrible for me to do. But, as of the last save for the first draft, I’m 1342 words in, and I think I’ve succeeded at my self-imposed challenge. It was weird writing a sci-fi story, but also kind of fun. It’s not my normal genre, but it’s fun to dip your toes into genres you normally don’t work in.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the story. I don’t know if it’ll ever see the light of day or if I’ll send it to a friend to read to see what they think. Jamie said he’d like to read it, and I like his opinion on things. He finds stuff that I miss and helps me find where I need more explanation because he has questions.

And I don’t know if I’ll just say fuckit and post it up here and see what happens. I got a handful of likes on the last story I posted, and that was awesome. But I’m really not sure. I guess, if anything, I can always “sleep on it” and see what I think tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

