Working on writing

I realized last night that I’ve been gone from Store and I have done jack shit when it comes to working on my writing. Granted, I have remembered to update this thing at least once a week (yay, go me) and I’ve been working on comic ideas (I told a former coworker about missing not being able to write down stupid shit from Store for comic fodder and she has excitedly told me she will happily tell me the best stories as they unfold).

But, I realized: I haven’t really worked on stories (I’ve done what? a couple hours throughout this whole time?), I haven’t bothered to look for stories I’ve typed up (granted, two of those stories were on the external hard drive and I’ll have to re-work them from memory. but hey, good writing excersize!), and I haven’t bothered to look for story bits and peices that I’ve got written in various notebooks.

As someone who wants to be able to do writing most of the time, I’m doing a fairly shit job of working on it.

This morning, I’m not even trying to think of my self-imposed daily wordcount goal. I’m just trying to get the words out of my head and onto “the page” (an electronic page since I’ve been typing things up) just to see how the story bit goes. I’m not necessarily working on a whole story, at least that’s what I’m telling myself. I’m just working on a part of a story, a part that has decided to play over in my head again and again for days (although, it’s gotten less and less the more I write it)

Maybe I should pull out the typewriter and see if that helps. The loud, obnoxious clacking of the keys might help. But I think I need new tape as it’s been a while since I’ve messed around with it, and the little typewriter shop has varying hours since it’s a guy’s hobby-shop and only takes cash. I’ll also have to remember how to get the tape out of the typewriter! (I’m glad I got the suitcase one and not the one from the turn of the 20th century from Mickie. Although it was a beautiful peice, it was hell on my fingers. it was from the…20s I think. teens or 20s, no later than ’27 though)

Maybe if I showed what I’ve got to someone it would help steer me to where I need to be. Jamie and I have fun discussions on story ideas, lobbing bits and peices back and forth. But, then again, Jamie could be a bit biased since it’s me and we’ve been together for 12 years.

Leave a Reply

