Reading and not writing

I had forgotten to update my little “things I’ve read!” page with the things I’ve gotten through for April. I find it kind of funny. I start all these books and what are the ones I go to: Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. I don’t mind, really. I enjoy going back to the Discworld time and time again and I enjoy wandering around with the likes of Mr Nancy.

I currently have 1247 books on my kindle and…however many physical books strewn around the house and put up in the shelf on the garage. I have almost all the Discworld novels on the kindle and I’m fairly certain most of Neil Gaiman’s work on here as well. I’ve got the majority of the Dragonbreath series (as well as 9 Goblins) by one of my favorite artist/authors, Ursula Vernon. But, I’ve also got a smattering of history books, horror novels (e.g: The Troop by Nick Cutter), various collections of ghost stories, various cookbooks (e.g: Thug Kitchen and The Oh She Glows cookbook) and little oddities like crochet books and how to do magical oils (it’s a Llewellyn book. I thought it’d be interesting).

I also have To Stir A Magick Cauldron by Silver Ravenwolf. I’ve read through it before, a long time ago, and now that I’m reading it again, I find myself more amused with the book than anything. I realize that I am perfectly comfortable with how I do stuff (as I described it to my now former minions: I’m a lazy pagan, every holiday is summed up as “I’m going to light shit on fire and have a beer.” –I do more for each but that’s the basic jist of it for me. each person and group is different, and I love it). And I realize that, the more I wander through the Discworld, the more I’m a witch like Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax. The more I wander through the Discworld and life, the more I realize that I’m reading the Real Life version of Mrs. Letice Earwig, and I just crack the fuck up.

So, instead of working on a short story that I started the day before yesterday  or going through my notebooks to try to find a couple other short stories (or going on the external hard drive and getting my short stories off that and putting them back on the PC so I can work on them), I’ve been spending my time reading. There’s nothing wrong with that. It’s a nice little change up of things. Or, if I feel like I can’t figure out where to go next, I’ll surf around for some writing prompts and see what I can come up with. I’m in no rush.

Leave a Reply

