meh

I’ve been meaning to update this thing. I’ve been kind of meh and trying to remind myself because sometimes writing helps. But, my job is a soul-sucking pit of vindictive toddlers that can drive.

But, on the plus side: it is now Spring! Spring has sprung! …and we have a new dog.

We still can’t find Hobbes and Jamie insisted that we get a new monster to “fill the potato-shaped hole in [his] heart.” So, we went to the RCACP and tested a few dogs with our eldest (Firefly) and wound up taking a “Two year old pit mix” home with us.

This dog is not 2 years old.This dog still has puppy teeth and is starting to show signs of severe separation anxiety. He hasn’t grown into his skin and his paws are huge.

Fate certainly has a sense of humor.

We joked a few times the past couple years that when we go to get a new dog (because Flygirl is a senior dog and Bug has health issues), we’re going to go in intending to get a small dog and wind up with something like an Irish Wolfhound, Great Dane, or Bull Mastiff.

Now, we have Dunk Ser Dubghall (“Doogle”) and he is…something. He outgrew Firefly’s size within a week and is now up to about mid-thigh/hip to me. He’s a velcro dog and he loves Jamie. He also talks back.

Also, it’s time to start doing seedlings. We got a new seed stash and, while some people have already started it, we are kind of slow (I blame my job. I don’t want to do anything because of this place) so we’re going to be working on it tonight if things go well.

The downside is, Jamie keeps texting me to crack open a beer and if I do that, I know I won’t go outside and start getting stuff off the shelf so we can bring it inside.

It’ll get done soon. We’ve got our pots and soil in the garage (along with our grow shelf and lights). I’ve kind of made space in the craft room (all I’ve got to do is move cat dishes and double check size when we get the shelf inside)

 

Leave a Reply

