yay insomnia

My insomnia is coming back with a vengence. I had…two? three? days of glorious partially rested sleep and now I’m back to not being able to sleep. The downside is, I woke Jamie up so now he’s wide awake.

So! Stuff.
(I’m trying to remember to update this thing)

I’ve decided it’d be a good idea to make a list of the books I’ve read. I wanted to see how many I can get to in a year (or a couple months, whenever I forget to write them down and whatnot). I started with October 1st because I had finished reading The Shepherd’s Crown by Sir Terry Pratchett. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

+ The Shepherd’s Crown by Sir Terry Pratchett
+ Eric by Sir Pterry
+ The $64 Tomato by William Alexander
+ Best New Horror #7, edited by Stephen Jones
+ Equal Rites by Sir Pterry
+ Best New Horror #5, edited by Stephen Jones
+ Uncle John’s Haunted Outhouse Bathroom Reader
+ Dragons at Crumbling Castle by Sir Pterry
+ A Slip of the Keyboard by Sir Pterry

As you can see, I’ve been on a Sir Pterry kick again.

And hey, that’s 9 so far. I’m currently going between Mort (Sir Pterry), Uncle John Presents Book of the Dumb 2 (it’s one of the bathroom readers. they’ve got interesting little factoids in them), and The Science of Discworld (quantum physics! I’m pretty sure I’ll start up a horror novel sometime soon to spice things up a bit.

I’d love to get my hands on Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson (aka: The Bloggess) because I read her blog and I have her first book. It was a tossup between her and Sir Pterry and, well, Sir Pterry won out. I have no doubt that I will get her book soon.

In other news:

Jamie and I did yardwork today. His dad stopped by to help, so they did the yard while I ripped apart this weird berry bush and the damned vine that is determined to keep growing. It took me approximately 3 hours, but I got most of it up (98% of the time I was over on our neighbor’s side of the little fence because it went haywire on their side. they encouraged me to have at it). The brush collection people are going to hate us this week. I have two piles of brush that come up to my knees/hips, and one pile that is currently over my head. When we go to move the brush to where the brush collection people will actually pick it up (thank you Roanoke for being so weird), I’m going to have to spend some more time sawing bits of it down so they’ll actually take it (max. length is 6ft and I know I’ve got a few peices that are way longer than that!)

And then I spent forever trying to curl my hair for Noah and Rene’s wedding today. I ran out of time, so I wasn’t able to get the front of my hair done, so I did it up in Victory Curls instead. I had a few girls compliment me on how neat it looked. And I tried to get a photo of it, but they all turned out crappy (boo). Oh well, I’ll be doing Victory Curls again soon so hopefully I can get a decent photo of it then. (the plan is to do it for Halloween. I’ll be wearing my Nanny Ogg hat and I think adding the Victory Curls with it will change it up and make it look neat)

And now that I’ve got insomnia again, I have the urge to make a “Layered Cake” (from Firefly) inspired tutu. Not for the dogs, because they’ve already got one that I need to tighten up, but for myself. And a couple other ideas for some tutus that would be fun to do.

Leave a Reply

