staring at the screen

I love old radio shows. Sometimes I catch myself staring at the computer screen, drawn into the story that’s going on. Jamie and I agreed that listening to podcasts is a lot like listening to old radio shows. I’ve also been meaning to download episodes of Relic Radio to give to my grandmother because she loves Westerns and my uncle loves suspense/horror (like: The Whistler, The Weird Circle, Lights Out, etc).

Work is supposed to “taper down” a bit since it’s the middle of January, but someone up the corporate ladder decided that it’d be a better idea if everyone got their hours cut (well, everyone who isn’t salaried), which has caused a lot of stress on everyone (including customers). People are quitting left and right, and apparently higher ups are very confused by this.

On a lighter note:

Jamie re-sealed the basement floor during his Christmas vacation and it still smells a bit like paint. There are painted crickets down there now, which is kind of unnerving if you just happen to glance at them, and there are flecks of the oil-based paint all over the bathtub. Uggs managed to get into it and had to wear the cone for about a week while we scrubbed it off of him and let it wear out of his fur. He tried melting the cone off of him at one point (because we have a kerosene heater and it was fucking cold), so it was taken off of him and he is fine. He is his normal grumpy cat self.

I have decided: fuck it. I am tired of saying “I was thinking about doing _____” and instead I should just fucking do it. For instance, I had mentioned that I was thinking about applying to a former job and I went to go do it (no positions available at this time, but, again: it’s January). I was thinking about updating this thing and fuckit. I am doing it.

And, oddly, Mom’s decided that she really wants a Doctor Who scarf (with requests of “not as long as that one”), which I find hilarious because she’s not a fan of the series. She just really likes scarves and had taken a liking to my DW/Tom Baker scarf. I’m almost done with the scarf part and will have the fringe stuff left to do and it made me realize that I should totally make more of these.

In general, the Doctor Who scarf is really fucking long.  My personal scarf is 13ft long, I have made a 17ft long one for the creator of Stella B, and I’ve made a couple that I call the “everyday wear” which are about 6ft long. I enjoy making them and I know of maybe a small handful of people who actually own a Doctor Who scarf. Sure, there are probably people who own them and only have them to show off as costume pieces, but there should be people who can wear these any time it’s cold (like I do. Yes, I am That Weirdo who wears a 13ft long scarf when it’s cold. I like my scarf)

Leave a Reply

