a list of stuff

Some things!

I have learned that if you are going to tile a floor, get a pair of gloves that are not your regular DIY-work gloves. Jamie ruined his pair and I went without gloves. Going without gloves is a bad idea. I also learned that those goofy yellow dish-washing gloves would be a great idea for the 2+ hours of cleaning the tiles and wiping the gunk off of them. My hands are extremely dry while Jamie’s hands are bright red from the grout that he had to mix by hand at one point (his bare hand). Apparently you can be allergic to grout when it’s wet and stuff.

After about 5 days, the bedroom is done (save for the painting of the door frames and window sills, but fuck it, it’s the dog’s room, we can deal. this way, it looks like they’re living in a cartoon chick and I am easily amused). The dogs are back in their bedroom and Firefly has no idea what is going on. While Bug and Izzy fly into the room, Fly slowly walks in like she’s expecting to either be dunked in the tub (the bathroom has ceramic tiling as well) or she’s going to fall.

I went to cut on the little space heater only to find it make unnerving noises (it sounded like it was dripping, which is bad because it’s one of those plug in ones that’s an oil-style so you can leave it on for a couple hours, unplug it and it’ll keep heating for a few more hours). I cut it off and a couple hours later, I went to cut it on while the dogs were outside playing and found that the lights weren’t coming on and there was no heat. Well, damn. I don’t know what happened. I’ll have to try it out again later on.

Because we spent so much time trying to get this project done, Jamie ended up spending a few hours trying to clean the rest of the house while I was at work the other day. And then not everything was done.

So, today, I’ve gotten 2 loads of laundry done (one of dog stuff, one of our stuff–our stuff is in the dryer now), cooked Jamie’s hamburger, set his chicken out to thaw, and am working on his mass of potatoes. I cleaned out the dust and bits from the craft room now that the dogs are out and brought down some of my craft things (there are still a few more plastic grocery bags that we’ve stuffed with things that need to go downstairs) and decided to deal with the drafting table later (most likely tomorrow), and did the dishes. And I watered the plants.

The advice on putting rocks in plants that cats can reach works really well. Snooch attempted to dig into the rocks the first night, but he hasn’t bothered it since. So yay, this means no more getting up and finding out the stupid cat has pooed in the ficus.

I still need to work on Jamie’s fish (possibly steak, I have no idea and Jamie said he wasn’t sure what he needed), pull out our laundry (and look for hangers. I have the suspicion I may need to buy some more because the dog stuff had to be hung up), finish the potatoes, finish taking all my craft stuff into the basement, make dog treats, find Grant and Emily’s scarves (oh crap, I should go do that).

The fridge has been moved (it was a pain in the ass to bring into the house, we had to take the doors off and fight with it) and works really well, the wine rack has been moved to where the old fridge used to be.

I feel like there was more, but I can’t remember. I need to go look for those scarves because we’ll be seeing Emily tonight and I need to make sure I can get some photos of them before I get them to her.

Chances are, it’s because there has been so much to do and we’d been going pretty much non-stop for days, that I feel like there is still so much more to do.

Leave a Reply

