Whining, bitching, moaning, and complaining

I’ve come to the conclusion that I hate a portion of my coworkers.

I hate my job, and this is probably also the reason why their normal behaviour irritates the hell out of me. I am one of those people who has to be somewhere at least ten minutes early. If I have the opportunity to clock in a couple minutes ahead of the time I am scheduled, I clock in early so I can get to my station and be ready to go. I always make it a point to do this, whether I am going to be taking over for someone or I’m the first person of the day.

But, one thing I have learned is that I am the only fucking person who does it. A portion of my co-workers usually waltz in at the time they are supposed to clock in and be at their stations. They’ll do their thing, clock in, continue doing their thing, and then come up. This really annoys the hell out of me when I’m the one at the front and have been for the past 8 hours and I’m the one who will get in trouble because I’m the one who has to do all of my end-of-shift duties well past the time I am supposed to be clocked out.

If one of my co-workers needs to start on their end of shift duties and asks me if I can cover for them, I’ll do it. But if I ask anyone, it’s like pulling teeth or they get all huffy and ask why I don’t just wait until so-n-so gets here and do it then. If one of my co-workers needs someone to cover so they can go to the restroom, go on break, go on lunch, it’s most likely going to be me. But gods forbid if I need to go on break. It’s a sigh, it’s a huff, it’s a look of “are you serious?” and then a reluctant yes or a “why can’t you ask so-n-so?

The other day, I got one of my co-workers’ attention and they huffed and went “What do you want?!” in a really hateful tone and yet they expect me to be happy and nice with them. I don’t care if you’re the boss’s favorite’s best friend. You’re a rude little shit.

One co-worker turns everything into a huge deal. If you don’t get his jokes, there’s something wrong with you, but if you make a joke, there’s something wrong with you and you’re not funny. Asking him to do something like cover the front for two minutes while you go help a customer who will only listen to you is like you’re telling him he has to wade barefoot through dog poo. Asking him to cover the front for someone to take their lunch is like sending him to the gallows.

Yes, we all hate working the front, but ye gods. It’s a cash register, it’s not going to bite you.

We have a new guy (and he will probably always be known as “new guy”) who is training to be a manager. Maybe my opinion on managerial training is wrong, but there is no reason why you should still be training after a month. A few things here and there, yes, I can see that. But not to the point where the Store Manager has to take you by the hand and stay with you all day to show you how to reset an aisle.

Or:

Last night, I had a lady come in to do returns. I’m sure she’s a nice lady, but I really don’t like her. She comes in every few days to return a ton of shit that she just bought because she changed her mind. I double checked her receipt (one of the pluses) and the items and found out that the return would be over $25.

Yep, non-managerial types have a limit of $25. If it is $25 or more (even a penny), a manager is needed. So I called for one and this guy who’s “training” comes up and asks. I explain to him what was up and point out it’s over $25, I can’t do it. He says no problem, he’ll do it. Ok, cool. This shouldn’t take long. He pulled out one of the things she had bought (multi-surface cleaner) and I showed him where it was on the receipt. He stared at the receipt for about 5 minutes looking for the item that I just pointed him to. The return took about 15 minutes when it should’ve taken maybe five.

He finishes the return, obsessively puts everything back in the bags that she brought them in, and left them right in the middle of the pathway before walking off to do something else. It didn’t bother me that he left the items back in my department, it bothered me that he left them in the pathway that employees walk. Other managers leave items at registers when they’re returned so we can get them later, but it just really annoyed me.

And I know that sometimes people are slow learners. But it should not take this long to learn the ropes of management. Especially, if my understanding is correct, the person being trained, has worked in any sort of retail store before.

And, last night, my Store Manager insinuated that I’m an alcoholic. The Fuck.

We apparently had a reset done on our wine aisle. No biggie, but it meant that we no longer carry certain brands or certain…flavors? of wine. So, I asked about two of them. Instead of giving me time to point out that I liked this one wine and the other wine was going to be for Jamie’s step-dad, he went “Oh, when you get off work are you going to get drunk?” and not in a haha kind of way. In a serious tone. I pointed out that I was scheduled until 9, which meant I wouldn’t be home until 9.30 and I have to get up at 4 am. I don’t have time for even a glass of wine.

He walked away before I could ask him what the fuck made him think I was going to get drunk from a bottle of wine that late at night when I have to get up that damn early in the morning?

…Last week or so, I had a customer (who’s really sweet but fucking hates our store) come in and request this one simple thing. She wanted to put some prints on cd from two strips of negatives (approximately 4 photos on each strip) and wanted to get a copy of a photo from a card she had made. The negative scanner decided to freak out on me, which kicked the register into rebooting. I apologized profusely and went to go try to find the manager because New Guy and Store Manager were the only ones available.

The downside was, on this day, our Loss Prevention guy and our District Manager were in the store. This fucks everything up. Instead of hiding in the office, our Store Manager plays around and acts like a “team member” and pretends to always be on the go, always working instead of shoving everything on the other employees. New Guy knows nothing about photo, which sucks for him because he has to learn it at some point and I am not teaching him. Instead of letting me talk to Store Manager, he gets New Guy to talk to me. New Guy can’t figure anything out, I’m apologizing profusely to my customer and trying to get things to work.

Eventually, I got Store Manager to come out, he pulls the negative scanner out and bends the customer’s negative all to hell—to the point of almost ripping it. My customer’s pissed and the Store Manager tells me to calm down.

Calm down. Are you fucking serious?

If it weren’t for the fact that I had a customer who needed assistance, I would’ve went off on him. I explained everything that happened in a calm tone. I had orders that were backing up, the register decided to reboot again and he’s telling me to calm down because “everything’s ok.” Everything is not ok. I have a pissed off customer, you almost destroyed her negatives, and you’re acting like I’m flipping the fuck out. I was calm. I was collected. But hey, if you want batshit insane, I can do that too.

This also brings me right back to last night. I had an order for a photo book and the customer had requested linen. Well, lo and behold, we are out of linen photobooks. I informed Store Manager and instead of believing me, he starts searching. All we have are leather photobooks (they are about $20 more expensive) and he tells me to call the customer and let them know. Then he points out that he doesn’t know how to put photobooks together.

This. This is why I hate asking Store Manager anything. He always looks like a deer in headlights when you ask him something and nine times out of ten he’ll have absolutely no idea how to do whatever you’re asking about. That one time out of ten that he knows how to do something, he does it and doesn’t explain what he’s doing then gets confused when you don’t know how to do it.

I had to explain the entire process twice to him and go step-by-step how to piece together a photobook. The book didn’t finish downloading to our system until sometime after I left, so I have no idea how it looks. But this is also from the same guy who gave me shit for double checking a photobook order, piecing it together and then finding out that it was supposed to be two books, not one. He gave me shit about it every so often for hours afterwards, and yet it’s perfectly alright for him to not even know how to put one together?

I hate my job. It’s not enjoyable. Even seeing my regulars and helping people and making people happy doesn’t help this shit job. I am supposed to be working for a company where you build a career here, where you progress. But I am stagnating. I am in a dead-end job with no hope of progress here.

The other day, one of my regulars pointed out that she only likes dealing with me because I “know her” and know exactly what she likes. She lamented that every time she finds a good employee, they leave soon afterwards. I was thinking that, wow, sucks for her when I leave and I didn’t feel bad about it.

I’m not allowed to do certain things when I’m in one department, I’ve been told rather bluntly there is “no way” I will be allowed to learn things in another department. I’ve been informed that I am “not trained enough” in the photo lab even though I’m there more often than not. All I am here is a glorified cashier with a pretty title.

I do want to quit, but I don’t want to be without a paycheck. I have bills to pay, I have medical debt to pay off, I have to buy groceries and pet supplies. I’m on my fourth pair of shoes in less than a year, I don’t want to make it five (I hate this. I usually have one pair of sneakers every year and a half to two years, sometimes more. But holy cow, man. And it’s not because I’ve only been buying cheap shoes). I’m tired of getting headaches and dealing with the constant stress of this dead-end job. I don’t get paid enough to deal with a moronic imbecile known as my boss.

But, I don’t have a new job lined up yet. I am relying on the simple fact that we are in the yearly train-em-now for the upcoming holiday season. Places should be hiring, and I’ve been putting in applications, but…I’ve got nothing. I’m tempted to go to a temp agency to see if they’ll place me somewhere, even if it’s for a call center.

I just really don’t know if it’s stubbornness or the fact that I haven’t just flipped the fuck out. I’m still going to work. I don’t want to, but I got bills to pay.

Leave a Reply

