From Geek to Simply Awesome

(simply: I just ramble about how awesome my mom is)

I was checking Twitter the other day and found that Think Geek is having a small contest to find the Geekiest Mom. This made me think of my mom, but I can’t submit to this contest because, simply, my mom is not really geeky any longer.

It’s kind of weird.

Growing up, my mom was really awesome (she’s still really awesome) and she was kind of geeky. She religiously watched TNG which eventually morphed into religously watching TNG, The Simpsons, and The X-Files. She encouraged me to go do whatever I wanted, encouraged me to learn things that I wanted to know about. She still does this now, even whenever I feel super goofy for making her a 3D perler bead Mario Bros. tube with three Mario flowers. From what I understand, she loves this little bit of weirdness and has it in her office.

My mom still has the hand-held Castlevania game from the early/mid 90s (that is apparently worth quite a lot according to some nostalgia website or other). I don’t think it’s been played in years. She still has her Pocket Gameboy, with the snazzy Bright Putrid Yellow colouring that came out right before the Gameboy Color (I remember this thing being toted as the Gameboy Color before Gameboy had color available). Mom bought a DS to play with and, though she did have fun with it, she got bored and gave it to me.

But, she goes through these different moods where she wants to spend time watching cartoons or spend time just reading. It’s pretty cool and she puts up with my weirdness. She finds it fun when I send her different links of stuff to check out.

I think that if Mom didn’t have a small memory problem, she’d probably get some of my random references. For example, the little perler bead thing I made her (ok, not little, the end product stood almost a foot high), I had to point out that the stuff came from Mario Bros. and it still took her a few moments to “get it.” I don’t mind because I’m used to it and I find it endearing. (she used to play Mario quite frequently)

Mom went from this geek mom to just plain awesome. She may not understand the need to make a 13ft long, terribly ugly scarf for seemingly no-damn-reason, but she understands the why. She may not play video games any longer, but she understands the joy of playing games. She may not keep up with the latest technologies, but she’ll quietly listen to me while I go on about this or that and then she’ll tell me about the latest cartoon she likes. She’s currently on a Ben10 kick.

But, she still has the three VHS tapes that have the original Star Wars movies on them. I just don’t know if she ever got the DVDs (I think so, but it’s been a while since I snooped through her film collection, which is…Scooby Doo movies, Addams Family, The Munsters, strange things that were taped) and far as I know, Buffy the Vampire Slayer to her is the same as me: it’s a film where Donald Sutherland trains a girl (Kristy Swanson) to kick vampire ass, but it’s a comedy, and it’s got Luke Perry and David Arquette in it. And Kristy Swanson kicks ass in a floofy dress.

I don’t think my mom would consider herself geeky. She really hasn’t got the energy to put labels to people. She has to deal with Maggie and Burney (her two dogs, which isn’t that hard to deal with), my dad (which is…much harder to deal with), stuff with work, and just simply being tired because she gets tired fairly easily.

Leave a Reply

