Getting Shit Done

(written in wordpad, I am not fixing this. it is late as hell, I need sleep as I have to work in the morning. deal with it or ignore it. I don’t give a shit. I ramble, like hell, and I don’t explain myself. so there.)

On Thursday, I spent some time hauling some of the brick from one area to another. The people who lived here before us decided they wanted to put brick down underneath the little porch/steps area that lead to the playhouse (which I used as a studio for a short time) and got bored and just piled brick in a corner. We decided to leave it alone until we could get to it and move shit (and had a better idea for what we were going to do with it all).

Me, being the brilliant soul that I am, had put my phone down so it wouldn’t get wet in my pocket. Of course, doing that (it was well away from where the water hose was intended to be), I dropped the hose and got water all over my phone. I freaked. A lot of stuff is on my phone: my mom’s cell number which I never wrote down anywhere else, fun pictures of things and our pets, notes I had written to myself, comic ideas. Stuff. This is my main form of communication to people, this is how my job gets in touch with me. What happens if the house catches on fire and our neighbor’s not home?

So, I wiped it off as best I could and did this trick I had heard about a few times: put your phone into a container with white rice and the rice will suck up all the moisture.

This is such a load of bullshit.

The only thing this “rice method/trick” does is make your phone dirty and ruin perfectly good rice. The only upside was that thankfully I had “regular” rice instead of having to break out the Bismati rice to see if that would help.

I emailed Jamie and let him know what was going on. I posted on facebook about how I needed to find a ride to a Verizon store because I needed a new phone. My friend Ashley offered to help out and I was very grateful.

My original intention was to make that one small bitchy comment, pour a glass of wine, and make some cookie dough. Just sigh and deal with it all later. But Ashley is awesome and she just happened to have the day off so that worked really well.

The guy who helped me out offered to switch Jamie’s and my upgrades so I could get a new phone because mine was practically dead (who knew that getting water in the Blackberry keyboard would also destroy the mini SD card). He offered his opinions on different phones (there wasn’t much to choose from, I’m not overly picky–though I do love that camera option now–but I am a cheap bastard. While there are great deals online for Verizon phones, they don’t apply in-store and I’m ok with that). He showed me a couple of things and pointed out the ones that he felt were the best.

I understand that these guys have to sell you things, but I’m also a Retail Zombie too, so I also understand the notion that usually when someone says they like this or that and point out the pros and cons, they’re not fucking with you. They have to be able to sell a product to you and be really good at what they do. Not to metion, I’m getting much better customer service at this store than I did when we were still with US Cellular and this is a million times better than the customer service that I experienced when Jamie was with Ntelos.

One of the guy working, while I was playing with some phones, asked if I liked Blackberry. I had to stop and explain, as nicely as I could, that my original plan was to upgrade to a completely different phone, transfer my stuff over, and then take a sledgehammer to my Blackberry. I do not like Blackberry. Sure, it was fun in the beginning and getting used to it was pretty easy, but all the crap we’ve gone through with this particular brand of phone was annoying.

So, the guy who’s helping me out is giving me all these great pointers, Ashley is trying to make sure Olivia (her daughter) isn’t going too crazy and she’s being so patient while I go through this. A while later, and I have a new phone. The guy who’s helping me out sets it up to where I get Jamie’s upgrade (his upgrade comes up before mine does because I’m the second line), I ask a few questions, I play around with my new phone, and we’re all good. The guy helping says my cell payment this month is now $3 and some change. Ha. No it’s not, man. My half of the bill is still $85 (we double checked later that day and I just paid the bill like half an hour ago). Maybe he means that this coming bill will be a lot less.

I offered to take Ashley to lunch because she offered to drive me up to Verizon. We go to McAlister’s, a nice little sandwich shop and she enjoyed herself. We spent some time talking about random things, got Olivia to eat her lunch by swearing we’d eat it if she didn’t and reminding her that her food is sad because there’s a party in her tummy and the food wants to be there where the party is (yes, Ashley made a Yo Gabba Gabba reference and I went along with it. I even told Olivia that the party in my tummy was all full up which was why no more food could go in, but the party in her tummy needed more food to party. She ate more mac-n-cheese).

Ashley brought me back to the house, we agreed to meet up again soon to do more stuff and I set my new phone in the kitchen and went out to haul more brick. This time I didn’t spend time cleaning it. It’s a good thing I didn’t clean it because we (Jamie and I) ended up moving all the brick into one nice pile. I counted over 300 bricks that were moved (two giant *twitch* …things…and many centipedes, some of which we killed).

Today!

Today we did More Stuff. Fred came down to help with the new fencing. Jamie and Fred spent a few hours getting our new privacy fence up, so now all our privacy fencing panels are up and here soon we’ll be moving our chain-link so everything will be all honkey-dorey. The dogs will have more room to run, our back yard looks even bigger than it did. We’re also trying to figure out how we’re going to do this one spot (where the studio was, there’s a brick foundation and it’s up a few inches so there’s a gap between fencing), I’m thinking trellis, Fred and Jamie are thinking about cutting a bit of privacy fencing down and setting it up. Either way, it’ll look really neat.

We still have to pour more gravel to even things where the fire pit is going to go, then pour concrete and go from there. The brick is going to be used for my outdoor grill (Jamie wants to build it for me, it gives me warm fuzzies), so we’ve got a good hunk of brick already and hopefully we won’t have to get more when the time comes for it.

I spent a good hunk of time trying to get these damned shrubs out of the front yard. Apparently, these two little shrubs have been in their little area for a while (they’ve been there the entire time we’ve lived here, they could’ve been planted by the former residents) so they have thick roots. Surprising for such small shrubbery and such a pain in my ass.  Fred let me borrow his…mattick (I have no idea how it’s spelled) and that thing was awesome. I got to chop into a couple of roots, but the little buggers are still there.

While Jamie and Fred were working on the fencing, I did some other outside things: weedeating, cleaning out the basement windows (they need some sort of covering so crap won’t get in there, they’ve got these little spots where if the need arises, you could get out if need be, spiders be damned), and doing shrubbery. After a while of doing this, Fred and Jamie had most of the fencing put up and I still didn’t have one damn shrub up. I gave up and started doing inside work.

After Fred had left, Jamie and I did more things and ended up going grocery shopping. And, to end the night, we hit Barnes and Noble for a magazine he wanted. We looked around the different bargain bin books and I looked for a copy of “Snuff” by Terry Pratchett. They didn’t have “Snuff” and they only had number 1, 3, and 6 of Dragonbreath (yes, I am behind on my Dragonbreath). I found a book on Lovecraft’s work in film, including the 2005 “Beyond the Wall of Sleep,” which made me squee. I love the film, we own it now, and I really enjoy it.

I was going to see how much a small-print copy of “American Gods” was, but there were these two guys in the way. One was asking the other his opinion on Gaiman’s work and the other one was going off about how “this one” was amazing, but not as great as “American Gods,” and telling the first guy to not get “Good Omens” because it was a collaboration by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett and he didn’t like Pratchett’s work.

Really? Really. We had to walk back to the bargain bin, around the kid section, and through the cookbooks before they moved. Jamie grabbed me a small-print “American Gods” after pointing out that a hardback “American Gods”/”Anansi Boys” was $20.

Afterwards, we came home to be glared at by Uggs and let the dogs out for one last romp around the yard.

Leave a Reply

