my excitement, let me show you it

I’ve been trying to tell myself over and over that I should update my blog. I’ve got ideas for topics I want to write about, I just…don’t want to write. blegh.

So, stuff.

Random stuff.

I’ve started reading ‘Salem’s Lot and, it’s not that bad. I really appreciate that he doesn’t go into detail when it comes to sex. I’m here for the horror, not for the sexy bits. If I want sexy bits, I’ll go read Maggie Shayne. Or peruse Allen’s novel collection (he loves Danielle Steele almost as much as Rhonda does)

Since my last update (omg, almost a month ago. wow, I’m getting terrible), I have watched/listened to many more documentaries and things.

Harlan Ellison: Dreams with Sharp Teeth
Candyman: The David Klein Stoy
Mad Hot Ballroom (ok, I lasted 9 minutes)
My War Diary, Season One (very fascinating)
Comics On Screen
Tucker & Dale vs. Evil (Fucking Awesome! Love Alan Tudyk)
Dead Girl (lasted all of 5 minutes)
Harper’s Island (saw most of the episodes, Jamie watched the whole season)
Chris Titus: The 5th Annual End of the World Tour
Double Take (wtf did I just watch?)
Now That’s Funny (no, no it’s not. I lasted 12 minutes)
Seamless (stopped after 18 minutes, not in the mood)
Few episodes of Mythbusters and Extreme Forensics

And that’s from 01/28 to 02/09. And I have made a note that I need to do film reviews. I’m back to being like 30 behind. Again. (queue Charlie Brown Arrrrgggghhhh)

Because of work, I’ve been trying to go back into the whole…makeupy thing. It’s kind of weird (because I am a lazy bastard) so I’m trying to do simple things. I still loathe base makeup because while it’d be great to cover blemishes, I love my freckles. I’d rather show off blemishes so I could show off my freckles than cover everything up. So, I’ve been going to eyeliners and eye shadows and, of course, my blephoritus decides “I’mma fuck yo shit up” and get all gross again (no, I can’t spell blephoritis right. If you Google it, it comes up as the correct spelling. Think of it as Eye Gunk on Steroids that *never* goes away) But, I have learned that if I wear Jordana eyeliner, it’s not as bad and the gunk comes much easier.

I don’t wear it much at work, because frankly I don’t want to carry around makeup and put it on at work before my shift if it’s early in the morning. Same goes with eyeshadow

Since I’m trying to get back in the makeupy bits, I’m also re-growing my nail polish collection. I’ve gone quite a number of years of not wearing anything on my face except sunscreen and nails not having anything on them. I figure it’s time to do more stuff.

After work today, I walked down the street to Kmart (because I needed to pick up new towels for the beasts, blankets will have to wait until we can hit Goodwill or something) and happened to spot their discount makeup section. Yeah, it doesn’t really sound all that great when you think about it, but it was really just a bunch of different makeups that were pulled to make room for new stock. I found a couple lip glosses I wanted to try (and 65-cents beats out $5.79 any day. all still had the plastic seal on them) and I happened to come across a nice selection of Milani nail polishes.

Milani usually runs between $5.50 and $9 depending on where you go. These were $1.89, so hell yeah I’m going to dig around for a neat colour to try. I got two and found they go on really well. I also found that Jordana does nail polish, so I grabbed a couple of the ones with a “precision brush” (I wanted white, but they didn’t have it. Oh well, I got Bright Neon Orange instead) Jordana was not on sale, but I did happen to find a Rimmel eyeshadow for 75-cents (huge jump from the normal $4 to $7 I’m used to seeing them at).

All the makeup things together was less than $20 (the towels I got were more expensive) so it worked out really well. It’s looking like I may have to go back and get some more Milani nail polishes (for under $2 a pop, this is a steal!).

Work’s also got this thing going on where we have to “dress nice” for the next few days. I guess it’s because of Valentine’s but I’m not sure. I’ll be getting more information about it tomorrow. I also have this sick glee that I hope one person doesn’t show up and actually gets in trouble instead of everyone else because we’re supposed to “cut them some slack.” I call bullshit, but whatever.

…I really need to update this thing more often. My goal was to do it on certain days, but that’s gone out the window. Hopefully I’ll get to updating at least once a week at *somepoint* during the week, so we’ll see how that goes.

And lastly: I had a guy try to pull my bandana off my head while telling me “You don’t need to hide your purdy hair behind that rag.” Yeah, he said “purdy.” and “that rag” was a wrapped bandana in the style of a headband because my hair’s at a weird length so it gets in my eyes a lot. heh. “purdy.”

Leave a Reply

