I Live!

I’ve been wanting to write, but every time I go to write anything I stop because it sounds like crap or I just don’t feel like continuing. So, what’s been going on in the world of Manders?

Dobbie’s growing his fur back, though it looks like his face and front legs are getting all the action right now.

I’m making scarves because apparently I’m awesome (and damn crazy). But they’re fun to do and I enjoy it so it doesn’t really bother me all that much. That and one of my customers is amazing and is cool with however long it’ll take me to make the scarf.

Speaking of scarves, I’m working on a blog post about pricing things and my reasoning as to why I’m charging what I’m charging. Right now it’s a rambling mess that will be added on to.

Let’s see…

I’m determined to do book and film reviews. I haven’t done any since sometime in September and it’d be nice to work on them. I’ve been attempting to keep a list of things that need to be reviewed (which are thankfully not as long as the last time I had to do a mass-update of reviews) and I’ve started on working on reviews themselves. But, I got…bored? stuck? irked? something and stopped in the middle of both a book review and a film review and decided to do something else.

Since the beginning of the year, I have:

+ Finished George Martin’s Clash of Kings

+ Read Steve Martin’s Born Standing Up (it was a fast read)

+ Attempted to read Zak Bagans’ Dark World (I gave up with 30 pages to go)

+ Re-started and actually finished Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451

+ Attempted to read Vampire Stories of the American South (and promptly decided I could do better than the first four authors I attempted to read as well as decided it might be worth the $2 spent but probably for only one author because Jamie really likes the guy’s work)

+ Started George Martin’s Storm of Swords

+ Read the first page of The Devil Wears Prada, decided that it was not worth the approximate 10-cents I paid for it over three years ago, and that it would make a better *something* if I just ripped it apart.

+ Read Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book for the first time and realized, yet again, that Dave McKean does really fucked up, but fucking awesome, artwork. This also helped me realize that I should probably attempt to read Clive Barker’s Everville again.

As for films (and yay for Netflix):

Since the beginning of January:

+ Jamie and I watched Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus just to see how bad it is and because Mega Shark vs Crocosaurus was hilarious.

+ I tried to get Jamie to watch Subspecies 2: Bloodstone. We’re 11 minutes in and haven’t gotten back to it.

+ We finally watched Paranormal Activity. It would’ve been much better if we hadn’t seen the Chiller Channel special or known that “the good stuff” happens when the clock slows down.

+ We attempted to watch The Burrowers and it really is like watching paint dry and it’s like you have to continue because something *may* happen soon. But then you realize you’re over the halfway mark and the most interesting thing happening is the tall grass moving in the middle of the night.

+ We watched The Chair, which was surprisingly good. It’s an interesting little b-film.

+ I have attempted to watch The Canterville Ghost, because I like Patrick Stewart, and…it’s almost painful to watch. I’m not even halfway done with it and I don’t know if I’ll continue, or attempt to continue it, again.

Checking the Netflix Instant-Watch re-hash, I can tell where I was really sick (and banned from work per doctor’s orders) and just watched or listened to stuff.

+ I learned that Trigun is not my thing

+ I listened to 2 Louis C.K. standup things (Hilarious, which I watched maybe half of, and Chewed Up). I found him quite entertaining.

+ I listened to Russell Peters (Red, White and Brown; The Green Card Tour) because I find Russell Peters quite hilarious.

+ I listened to Hal Sparks’ Charmageddon and Craig Ferguson’s Wee Bit o’Revolution as well as a couple of the George Carlin specials.

Now that I’m writing these down (up?) I’m realizing that I watched a lot more films than the four I distinctly remember (3 from yesterday and 1 from the other day). Maybe writing down the breifest of thoughts on them will help get my lazy butt to writing somewhat decent reviews on them.

Hmm…

+ Finished The Wild and Wonderful Whites. It was like 10 minutes left and I was a bit curious as to how they wrapped the documentary up.

+ Watched Nightwatch. It’s not the awesome Russian film based on a book from a series, but a weird psychological thriller from…1997. Wow, I thought it was an early 90s film not a mid-90s film. I was surprised, this is a fascinating film and it was pretty good.

+ I watched Dylan Dog and…I was sorely disappointed. Not surprised at all by my disappointment, most of the zombies were pretty cool. I kind of want to check out the comic to see how bad the film fucked it up.

+ I attempted to watch Order of the Black Eagle, because it was on one of the ICHC sites, and all it’s overly glorious cheesiness couldn’t get me past the 20-minute mark.

Jamie and I went out, for the first time in 3 years, to the theatre. We saw the First Showing on Opening Night for Underworld 4: Awakening. We joked with a group of guys about how if it was bad, we’d be making fun of the film right along with them. We were pleasantly surprised, they set it up for Number 5 easily, and the 3D stuff wasn’t as bad as Up. It really did seem like shit was flying at you or the silver-nitrate was floating around the theatre like glitter. We’ll probably get the DVD at some point.

And yesterday:

+ I re-watched the documentary on H. H. Holmes because I find serial killers fascinating.

+ Watched The Way We Get By, which is a really great documentary and also really sad but pretty awesome.

+ I attempted to watch Dear Mr Gacy, but stopped at the “take a picture of me all hot and sweaty” because…I just couldn’t continue. And then I realized that the lead actor is also one of the actors from Ginger Snaps, which made it a bit more awkward.

+ So I went on to watch Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead which is a fascinating documentary and has some cheesy animation to go with it. I had the urge to make a smoothie, but didn’t want to deal with the sound of the blender.

+ Re-watched a couple episodes of Doctor Who because Doctor Who is awesome.

+ Started watching Dive! I have approximately 16 minutes left, but I don’t know if I can continue with it. It’s a fascinating documentary, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t know if *I* can continue. I’m sure other people wouldn’t have a problem continuing on with it.

…And this came out to be much longer than I expected. I gotta take the beasties out, Izzy has to have a bath today, I have to re-wash some blankets and wash some other things, and I should probably work on the scarves a bit.

Leave a Reply

