Working on things

I’ve found that this new job has helped me realized what a constraining, imagination-sucking, cesspool my last job had been for practically anything other than that job (and grocery shopping, which it seemed all I did: get up, get Jamie’s stuff together, go to work, come home, and once or twice a week grab some groceries). I’ve noticed that I’ve been more inspired while I work at this new job than I have in quite some time. I’m inspired to clean (clean! and organize! holy shit), to write, to knit and find other things to do. I’m filling up notebooks with ideas, I have a short story I’m working on.

I haven’t written a short story in a while, or at least started a short story in…almost two years (which is when I started my Dagon story. 20-some pages and I still haven’t gotten to the good bits, but it is the first draft and I’m sure I’ll pare it down eventually) And here I am working on one. Well, it’s been about three days since I’ve worked on it, but still. Improvement! Makes me excited.

Then again, reading Sam’s blog is inspiring because he is paving his own way in the writing world and I’ve been really enjoying seeing what happens. It’s kind of like reading Ursula V’s blog and getting snippets of life, short blurbs that come into her head, and learning the title of the newest Dragonbreath she’s working on. They can do it, then damnit, so can I.

So, while I get inspired and my brain is going a million miles an hour, of course I feel like crud and my limbs feel like they’ve been dipped in lead (thinking on lead, I need to get a new meat/candy thermometer) and I manage to find myself with Laryngitis. Again. At least this time, I don’t have to go to a doctor to tell me what I have (I had it in June, this makes the third time in less than a year I’ve gotten it) and I don’t have to miss work because I’m with another company. Tomorrow should be interesting at least.

It’s taking forever to knit a hat.

Speaking of which, I’ve been invited to sell scarves and things at a local “fall festival” that will be goin on next weekend. On the plus side: hell yeah! I can sell my wares and laugh at the attempt because I doubt anyone will be interested, on the negative side: I personally will only be there one of the three days because I have to work the other two (it’s a Friday, Saturday, Sunday thing). I had decided I’d work on making hats to go with some of the scarves that were made and see what sells. It’s getting cold (though the “holy balls, I’m not leaving the house without a damn blanket over my layers” cold is January/February) and people are always into that whole “homemade” stuff and whatnot. If nothing sells, it’s all good. I don’t expect to sell anything, I just look forward to some time hanging out with a friend and seeing our corner of the world from a different angle. Maybe I’ll get inspired for a character or something.

So, back to the original thought of this post.

Since we’re coming to the end of October (Halloween sales! wooo!), and November is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), I have decided I will attempt to do my own twisted version of this. I am not going to attempt to write a novel, as that is much too dubious a project. My goal is to work on short stories, maybe do absolute basic outlines (e.g: we start at point a, hit point b, and end up at point c) for other stories that I have written snippets for, and/or possibly work on snippets that would go with bits that I have in the carious folders near the desk.

I don’t expect to finish a story and I’m fine with this. I figure I can do this as an excersize in writing and find my way back into that writing bit that I used to do constantly (which has trickled down into droplets of strange things like quotes, ideas/thoughts, lists). Maybe something will come from it.

Leave a Reply

