Where to put you?

I’ve been meaning to work on book and film reviews lately, but I’m lazy. There are a few more…important things to work with, like dogs, cleaning, and filling out applications. Hell, who am I kidding? I simply haven’t felt like it.

Last I checked, I had about 10 to 15 film reviews to do and then I’d be more or less caught up. This does not include Kung Fu Panda because it’s been well over a year since I sat down to watch it and the most I could do for a review right now would be “dude that was cool!” And I had written down about 20 titles of books to review, including the names of the anthologies I wanted to work on writing about.

When I do reviews, I do attempt to write a brief synopsis of the film, book, or story (if it’s an anthology) and then give my opinion. I’ve noticed that if I enjoy a book, I find it’s either one paragraph or two and I go off about how awesome it is. But if I do not like the book or film in question, I go off on a written rampage that spans…quite a ways. Then again, I’ve noticed that if I write the review right after finishing the film or book, it’s more comprehensive.

I have yet to start the review for Game of Thrones by George R R Martin (I’m on Clash of Kings) and I have yet to work on a review for Creepers by David Morrell that is longer than “that shit is fucking awesome” or “squee!”

The reviews are mainly for my own reference. I started with the film reviews (which is probably why it’s currently at 599 reviews) to help remind us what films we saw were terrible and which ones were pretty awesome. Since these are for my own sheer amusement, the reviews have run-on sentences and a smattering of cuss words. And eventually I realized I should work on book reviews so I can remind myself which books to happily avoid.

So, I’ve been going back and forth on where exactly to put these. I could leave these on my rinky-dink Angelfire site (what can I say? I’m a creature of habit) or I could work on just putting them up randomly on the blog. But would I copy-n-paste what I’ve already gotten up or just work on new reviews and post them on the blog? Would I put the review on both the blog and my little rinky-dink site?

I’m really not sure what I’ll do. Maybe I’ll figure something out when I’ve got a few new reviews to post up somewhere.

One thought on “Where to put you?

Leave a Reply

